The Power of The Last of Us

So… I finished The Last of Us the other day.

I don’t think there are any words of praise that I can give Naughty Dog’s masterpiece that haven’t already been said. Although saying that I would like to be the next to go down on record and say The Last of Us is a truly fantastic game that deserves all awards that are inevitably coming it’s way. It’s so good in fact that the game has inadvertently made me fall back in love with my PS3. For a long time the PS3 has sat below my television alongside the more frequently used Xbox 360 and become a device that is primarily used to play Blueray discs (except for a few ‘Uncharted’ exceptions) rather than the function it is supposed to be used for, gaming.

I’ve found myself wanting to go back and play Sony’s juggernaut first party games such as God of War and Gran Turismo, as well as classics like Metal gear Solid. I even went as far as to sign up to 3 months of Playstation Plus to reap some of the incredible benefits that the service offers. I guess this Playstation ‘re-discovery’ couldn’t have come at a better time with the PS4 just a few months around the corner because with the Xbox One’s inclusion of a Blueray drive I wasn’t sure whether I was going to hand over my hard earned cash for both but I’m now thinking twice.

Did it just take a quality game to reignite my interest in the PS3 or is The Last of Us simply that good. Either way well done Naughty Dog.

Thanks for reading and feel free to comment by clicking the comments link below.

Leave a comment